Of haikus and photographs

by Evans Yonson

(Note: This blog originally appeared in my Multiply account on 4 October 2007. In the coming days, I will be posting blogs written between 2004 and 2006 and posted in Multiply. The site will be offline soon thus the migration of several blog entries.)

cagayan de oro – it was really funny that while waiting for my students to finish their personal evaluation of my photography class, i was able to finish several haikus.

#1
As the semester closes,
A butterfly lands.
The sun brightly shines upon.

#2
Forty-nine enter in June.
With innocence came,
Filled with joy they are going.

#3
Forty-seven happy souls,
Armed with cameras,
Took reality a halt.

#4
Dancing under the sun’s heat,
Camera at hand,
Mud, sweat, rain, wonderful gain.

#5
Oh life’s little agonies,
Tender mercies go,
Stealing moment such fun.

#6
Click goes my reality.
Taking part of me,
Blissful fun dries my tear ducts.

#7
Sitting down I learn from you.
Afraid to stand,
Ready to face tomorrow.

#8
Walking I go up,
Listening I learn,
Golden slumber take me.

#9
With fear I come before you,
Happiness I talk.
Satisfaction you go home.

