Burning up! (Madonna series)

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – Madonna is one female that I admire from the 20th century. She started her career when I was high school in the early 80s. She has influenced our generation from the way we look to our manners in bed. As a fitting tribute to her artistry, I am starting a new series of photographs (appears in this blog every Monday thereafter) that may have been inspired by Madonna and her songs.

Today’s song is “Burning up.” Released in 1983 as the second single from her self-titled debut album, Madonna. Written by the artist herself and produced by Reggie Lucas, “Burning Up” didn’t make it to US Billboard’s Hot 100 though.

BURNING UP! (Taken in a disco somewhere in Lower Manhattan, New York, 2009)

Don’t put me off, ’cause I’m on fire
And I can’t quench my desire
Don’t you know that I’m burning up for your love
You’re not convinced that that’s enough

I put myself in this position
And I deserve the imposition
But you don’t even know that I’m alive
And this pounding in my heart just won’t die
I’m burning up.

