Photography as seen by my students…

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – Today is the day of Lansad 2011, the annual student photography exhibit in Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan in Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines. News from home report that it has been a successful exhibit and the photographs are getting better and better every year. Another new thing that I have introduced and very well implemented is the writing of a weekly blog. As a parting assignment for all students, I asked them to write about something that they have learned this semester.

Here are some thoughts from my students:

From Nash Alonto: How I would learn from my experience in photography is way BEYOND what I was expecting. All the experiences that I’ve been through, all the troubles I’m enduring, I will really miss every micro-second of my life. Today, I’ve learned more and I’m very eager to learn more.

From Joe Bacus: Learning photography then became more interesting to me and was not a problem anymore. I hate writing blogs because I don’t read that much, but now I enjoy doing it. Not as good as my classmates but I am happy to learn a new medium of expressing myself aside from painting and music.

Taken by Joe Bacus - Cogon Market, Cagayan de Oro City, Philippines

From Lori Janubas:  I have learned that photography is not just an art, but its a perspective. I learned that its about how you look at the people and how other people will look at the picture too in their own perspectives. I learned that there are lot of things that life has to offer and that it all lies on looking at them in another perspective that by taking the experience to the people make it worth while. A simple picture is not just a bowl of fruits on a table, but its about how those fruits would taste, feel, and look like.

From Haiko Magtrayo: Convey message through photographs and most specially to preserve truth in every photos that I capture. It reminded me to find beauty and capture them in every situation that only eyes of a photographer can see.

From Joule Visabella: What this subject made me realize the most is that a photograph is a message. A message that inspires you to achieve something and promote change. A message that wakes us up and encourages us to to do something, be of use.

From Chum Magdadaro: I appreciate the lessons I acquired, I love it. It quenched my thirst for photography. I am satisfied and will always be. I can sort-of evaluate photos but aside from it, we’re not just taking photos for the sake of compliance, applying the techniques and methods or for us to just show-off our cameras. We’re trained to bring events forever and telling the hidden stories through it. I hope more people will be inspired in my photos, open their eyes and be able to change their heart toward anything.

Taken by Chum Magdadaro - Xavier University, Cagayan de Oro City

