Women photographers

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – If there’s one woman photographer that I admire most that would be Annie Liebovitz. She has lived a very colorful life from photographing famous rock stars to supermodels. When I found a documentary film about Annie’s life, I immediately bought it. I brought it home and showed it to me photography students who are mostly women. There is something about women photographers that make them distinct and their photographs exceptional.

In my search for knowledge about women photographers, I came across Cindy Sherman. What better to present her photographs than through music video of Billy Bragg’s homage to Cindy, Cindy of a Thousand Lives (1991).

Here are two of the many photographs taken by my female students:

In Medina - by Chum Magdadaro

City fiesta - Dannah Buquir

 

