I must confess…

by Evans Yonson

Cagayan de Oro – There are writers who think. And there are writers who write and think. Still, other writers feel what they write and think reasonably before they could publish what they write.

When I came back to the university a couple of weeks, I was my usual self with so much expectations from the sitting and paying audience. I substituted for one of my co-teachers who was leaving the country to attend a six-week workshop. And I would be handling laboratory classes for photography and video filmmaking.

Little did I know that after less than three years of being away, the student mindset has somehow changed not for the better but the opposite. Save for a few fortunate and diligent souls, the students that I have now could hardly express themselves in any language known to humanity. Here’s a university that prides itself of producing great English speakers and writers but not anymore. I remember in high school when we could converse and write confidently in English. The academic world, the student population perhaps, has evolved over a short period of time.

A friend told me that it should pose to me as a challenge. Hell no! Me teach grammar over this university students when the educational system should have taught them those? It’s funny how the university system in the Philippines has never evolved since the Americans introduced it more than one hundred years ago. Or has it evolved into something that only those in the bureaucracy could understand such creature?

I had a group of students when asked a question, about something that is relevant of the times, would simply look back at you with a blank stare. An empty gaze gives me the shivers. A simple question like what is the significance of the radio broadcasting in Philippine setting could silence a Manny Pacquiao bout.

I must confess that this semester has been a mind-boggling and an eye-opener one. I might lose all my hopes for a better Philippines but this does not stop me, in my own little way, helping my own country rise from what we now know as education for all. This is the reality now. You pass an academically challenged student now and let the next year level take the burden. Now that’s something that we all have to work for.

