Puppets galore

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – Puppetry is an art form that dates back to 30,000 years ago. Puppets were used to communicate human ideas in an animated manner. I learned puppetry while I was doing my university studies in Cagayan de Oro, Philippines. Many years later, little did I know that I would be teaching the same subject that I took more than two decades ago.

In one of my classes in the Philippines.

When I learned that Segovia was sponsoring an international congress of puppetry, I immediately went to see it the first time in 2009. Since then I have never missed the annual congress. The city turns into a puppet town. Street corners become stages for all possible performer that you could ever imagine.  Puppets of different shapes and sizes. Some animals. Some unknown creatures. Some even unknown. Nothing beats the human puppets of Avenue Q! But if you see one puppeteer like this one below, then you would you’d be his puppet 24/7! Let’s animate ourselves and start communicating.

Puppeteer

With his ware, his leather pants, his music and his muse, puppetry becomes hotter and sexier.

