Hitting my 10,000

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – It has been 11 months since I started with this WordPress account and more than six years of blogging in this wired world. The history according to my blogs:

January 2005 – Immediately after my first European and Italian Christmas holidays, I realized I needed to share all my experiences by creating and writing a blog. I first called it Viajero del Mundo.

In the succeeding months, I continued to write about my travels around Europe and also remembering the past travels I have had alone, with my family, and with my friends.

In September, I started a daily series called Countdown to Africa, as a tribute to the life and friends that I met during my one year stay in the university residence hall called Africa.

When I moved out of the hall, I stayed on in Madrid for another year and went to the Philippines in April 2006. After my six weeks stay in Cagayan de Oro, I went back to Madrid and stay there for a month and finally moving to Barcelona for the summer.

In April 2007, I decided to go home to Cagayan de Oro and teach at the university. In between classes and deadlines, I wrote more blogs. If I couldn’t write one online, I made sure that I write down on paper. In June 2008, I realized that I have been travelling very lightly that started calling my blog, The Light Traveller.

I only taught at the university for three semesters and one summer because Spain beckoned again. I came back in 2008 and in less than a month’s time, I was travelling again and this time, I went to Athens, Greece.

In June 2010, I decided to move back to WordPress as my former blog provided could not come up with my daily statistics results.

Today as I am about to have my 10,000th hit for this WordPress account, I am just thankful for all the more than 150 subscribers and my daily visitors… Your hits and subscription always remind me that someone out there wants to read my blogs.

Again, thank you very much for reading my stories. Join me as I continue to write about the adventures of the life of The Light Traveller.

