Travel for life.

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona -During my Eastern Europe trip last summer, I promised myself that I should see Beatrix, my very dear Austrian friend. Trixi and I took the same masters at the Universidad Complutense de Madrid in 2004.While I was planning my trip, I had to consult her for the Vienna part of my travel.

One of those things that I love most when travelling around this part of the globe is the street musicians. Walking the streets of Eastern Europe made my trip even memorable by the presence of these people. Arriving in Wroclaw, Poland, I had the opportunity of meeting a Polish mother and her son who were flying from Girona. They were vacationing in Barcelona. The mother proudly introduced her son, a guitarist. She mentioned that her daughter is also a concert artist, a viola player.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)

Summer is the best time for street musicians to get out and play their best. They crowd the streets of Wroclaw from one corner to another. Prague´s street experience is another story. It was in Vienna that I realized that this side of Europe, music is as important as anyone´s fast breakfast or sumptuous dinner. Music is everywhere in Austria from east to west and north to south.

Your voice is music to my hear. Your harmony is the orchestra that fuels me everyday as I look for that eternal happiness.

Austria is not only famous for the Von Trapp family and the hills of Salzburg. It is also the birthplace of one of the greatest composers of all time, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart.  At a very young age, Mozart has been exposed to music thanks to his father, who was a musician and composer at the same time. He performed with his father and sister in various parts of Germany, Austria, France, the United Kingdom, and Switzerland. Mozart was himself a traveller. He met Johann Christian Bach in one of his travels. Mozart moved on to compose the opera, The Marriage of Figaro.

Even in the 18th century, people were already travelling because of their talents but most of importantly to earn a living. People moved to support their daily needs. But they always go back home because it was difficult to wire money then. But today, street musicians don´t have to move that often or farther because the tourist come to see them where they are. Well, it depends on the season. Some move south when it´s wintertime and north when it´s summer and hot. Today most street musicians have to compete with each other. Each has to come with his or her own style or genre of music.

Mozart´s lifestory and experiences are inspiring to anyone, not necessarily those musically-inclined but those who go through life the hard way. There is always a reason to live life to the fullest, to realize one´s greatest potentials. But you need not travel to live a life. Life should not be as hard as the 18th century Europe or wherever we maybe at this point in history. Like the music of Mozart, we all go through life with grand entrances, pauses and strains. Surely there is always a nice  piece in the end.

 

Signed. Sealed. Composed. The Mozart way.

 

