My first solo photography exhibit

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – Finally, the long wait is over. I am going to have my first solo photography exhibit in my city, Cagayan de Oro in the Philippines on December 1 – 5, 2010. This is in time with the Xavier University’s Grand Alumni Homecoming and the Xavier Days 2010 festivities. I am so excited about this because it is a product of several years of taking photographs and travelling wherever my feet would bring me. The exhibit in December is called “Tubig, Water, Agua: A Photography Exhibit of an Element.” Needless to say, it is about water. I will explain later on why this element.

All photographs (framed with glass) are for sale and with reasonable prices. Proceeds of the exhibit will go directly to the Gahum Scholarship Program for indigenous high school students of the Development Communication Society (DevCom Soc). The DevCom Soc will also accept donations/contributions and sponsorships to the scholarship fund.

I must admit that I am anxious about this incoming exhibit because friends, family, and my students are eagerly awaiting for it. But I know this will be a success knowing the very reasons why I am doing this one. This is going to be a celebration of all our efforts to create awareness about the importance of water in our lives, in our communities and to Mother Nature. The exhibit will also feature original music compositions of Jed Balsamo and short films of Barcelona-based DevCom graduate, Christina Elloso. They have volunteered their talent, effort and time to this worthy cause. I hope to see everyone of you in December, in Cagayan de Oro City.

