Men and rainy days

by Evans Yonson

(Note: It´s funny how I wrote this in my notebook exactly five years ago today but never  printed or published online. Sometimes my eyes just get tired staring at the monitor. Nothing really beats the pen and the paper.)

Madrid – It’s a miracle! It’s raining outside my window today. Trying to write something for my blog, I remember tom’s diner. It’s a good song by Suzanne Vega, reflecting life on a fine rainy afternoon in a cafe. I love movies or music videos that has rain scene or after-the-rain/storm type of drama. I have been told that it´s a sign of good things to come. Isn´t that heavy for a summer rainy afternoon?

I am sitting
In the morning
At the diner
On the corner

I am waiting
At the counter
For the man
To pour the coffee

And he fills it
Only halfway
And before
I even argue

He is looking
Out the window
At somebody
Coming in

“It is always
Nice to see you”
Says the man
Behind the counter…….

Yesterday, I went to see the Les Poupees russes (The Russian Dolls) with Josephine and her handsome and very kind boyfriend, Bogdan. The movie is a sequel of an earlier film called L’Auberge espagnole (The Spanish Apartment). It’s a wonderful film. I love the international characters – English, French, Spanish, Italian, Russian. The latter is a must-see movie for those international scholars who live in a foreign land and trying to cope up with the pressures of new friendship, life abroad, studies, and a foreign language. I wish the writers and producers or anyone else for that matter would come up with a new film but this time with an Asian character and to play favorites maybe a Filipino.

Friends from all over. Fun everyone! Madrid, Spain. September 2005.

While the former is a sequel and now the main character is faced with the harsh realities of life – away from the scholarship that the Erasmus afforded them 5 years ago. Imagine we could introduce a Filipino character into the lives of these Erasmus scholars. How their lives would be so colorful, fun and adventurous. It will be such a riot from beginning to end.

A Filipino character in a European movie might be interesting. Not the ordinary Filipino stereotype maybe. But someone that brings out the true brown man that will stand out in the crowd.

Guys like these only come once a year. Much more in costumes from the olden times. They're like everyone else's blue moon. Barcelona, Spain. June 2010.

“Mr. Everyman is seldom met in… everyday life.” Xavier, the main character said.

That reminded me that it’s not everyday that we get to experience rain and men. Today is no ordinary day at all. Rain but no men?… That’s rare!!!

