Suckling!!!

by Evans Yonson

Last year, I went to Madrid to visit my alma mater, the Universidad Complutense de Madrid in Somosaguas. It was the only plan I had for that weekend. I was to attend an international conference of a living theorist conducted by his avid Spanish followers. Another reason is seeing two friends: first my very dear friend, Josephine; and my first-time to meet scholar, June Cecille.  June and I went to Segovia to see the world famous aqueduct and had lunch there.

This year, I went to Madrid again the same weekend as last year. I still went to visit my alma mater to claim that document that I have always wanted to get hold of many years ago. To my dismay, the document came in wrong. So I had to wait for another three months. I met up with Josephine again. This time around, my travel bug friend, Aaron flew in from London despite the volcanic ash cloud threat. The three of us went to Segovia not only to see that aqueduct but to have lunch there too.

So, what’s in Segovia that it has become an annual thing for me? Cochinillo!!! Aside from the Aqueduct (UNESCO’s World  Heritage Site), another reason that Segovia is famous for is the cochinillo (roasted suckling). One of the famous restaurants that serves the best cochinillo in town is La Codorniz.

The world-famous Aqueduct of Segovia

Waiting for the Aqueduct to fall on us. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

The Cathedral of Segovia

With my travel buddies, Aaron and Jo. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

By the Romulus and Remus statue en Segovia. We need our crispy suckling now, please. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

Some cheese, choice cold cuts of local chorizos and red wine to begin our hearty lunch. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

Scrambled eggs with shrimps and mushrooms fried in olive oil. Seasoned with salt, pepper and sage. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

Callos with white beans. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

The cochinillo!!! One-fourth part of a suckling broiled to Segovian perfection. So crispy that a plate can slice it easily. Photo courtesty of Jo Pacate.

What a great way to end a sumptuous lunch with a locally-made coffee ice cream. Topped with chococate caramel and a dashed of confectioner's sugar. Photo courtesy of Jo Pacate.

