Lovin’ an Italian

by Evans Yonson

My first unforgettable Italian film is Salo, or the 120 days of Sodom, This thought-provoking controversial Pier Paolo Pasolini film tell a story of four fascist libertines in the Second World War in Northern Italy. These four characters round 9 young men and women and subject them to 120 days mental, physical and sexual torture.

I refuse to include Francis Ford Coppola’s The Godfather in this blog, not that they are not my favorites, but because it talks about another issue that may run counter of the intentions of this blog in the first place.

Two week ago, I went to this Museum Exhibit in Caixa Forum here in Barcelona on another great Italian director, Federico Fellini.  The exhibit is entirely a great gathering of everything Fellini. So, immediately upon arriving home. I researched more about Fellini and order a set of DVD copies of his greatest films.

La dolce vita (1960) with Marcello Mastroaniani, Anita Ekberg and Anouk Aimee. La strada (1954) with Anthony Quinn and Giuletta Masina. Masina is Federico Fellini’s favorite actress and they eventually got married. Masina won the Cannes Film Festival Best Actress in 1957 for Fellini’s Nights of Cabiria. If you’ve seen the movie, Nine, released late last year and starring Daniel Day-Lewis, which is based from a stage musical of the same title. This musical is based on Fellini’s  8½.

I still have more Fellini films waiting but above all else, I have come to realize that my trips to Italy have been worthwhile. Next stop Italian music and their regional cuisines. Then the language!!!! I could probably in the end, there is more to Italia than spaghetti and pizza. Oh, Marceloooooo!!!

