eat pray read watch

by Evans Yonson

Barcelona – I have been through a lot these past few weeks.So I just keep on buying/reading and reading/buying books that Amazon would email and offer me on a daily basis.

Elizabeth Gilbert writes about her pre- and post-divorce experiences and her travels to different countries that begin with the letter, “I”. Italy. India. Indonesia. She is a vulnerable woman prone to self-pity, even to the point of suicide. But the adventurous being inside her and that being she aptly describes and calls as God showed her the way to eternal bliss.

Gilbert goes from self-indulgence of eating (in Italy), praying (in India), and loving (in Indonesia) to achieve what she have been longing for all this time, self-fulfilment and the truth of loving oneself more than anyone else. I am tempted to follow Gilbert’s adventure but then I don’t have enough dollars to waste to be globetrotting in order to save myself from self-destruction. Gilbert is your typical American lass. They have to get out their American dream zone to understand what life really is. American does not have all the answers to everybody’s woes and problems. Why would she travel to Italy to taste pasta and pizza when there are thousands of Italians in New York? Nothing beats a real ashram in India. To say that the beaches of Bali are the best could be an insult to Waikiki. Good thing Gilbert is writing about her travels. I forgive her for all her misgivings. Just too American for me. Or is she simply your typical corporate woman who is determined to achieve everything and has completely forgotten what it means to be woman like that character in her book? But truth to tell, I love her writing style. Very personal as if she was infront of me sharing all her experiences. But sometimes she gets boring. I just that “Committed” will be exciting from page 1 till eternity with Felipe.
Here are some lines from the book that are interesting:

“Happiness is the consequence of personal effort. You fight for it, strive for it, insist upon it, and sometimes even travel around the world looking for it. You have to participate relentlessly in the manifestations of your own blessings. And once you have achieved a state of happiness, you must never become lax about maintaining it. You must make a mighty effort to keep swimming upward into that happiness forever, to stay afloat on top of it.”

—–

“I’m here. I love you. I don’t care if you need to stay up crying all night long, I will stay with you. There’s nothing you can ever do to lose my love. I will protect you until you die, and after your death I will still protect you. I am stronger than Depression and I am braver than Loneliness and nothing will ever exhaust me.”

—–

And for those of you who couldn’t stand reading 109 chapters of great travel, no need to worry. Set to open this summer, Eat Pray Love the movie with no less than Julia Roberts as Elizabeth Gilbert.

